Exploring the FNAF Universe: A Guide

What are the different series of Five Nights At Freddy's?

FNAF, short for Five Nights at Freddy's, is a popular video game franchise created by Scott Cawthon. Over the years, the series has expanded and evolved, captivating players with its unique gameplay and chilling storyline. Let's explore the different series of FNAF:


The first installment of the FNAF series introduced players to Freddy Fazbear's Pizza, a haunted restaurant filled with animatronic characters. Players took on the role of a night security guard, tasked with surviving five nights while avoiding the animatronics, which come to life at night. FNAF 1 set the foundation for the series and became a sensation among horror game enthusiasts.


In FNAF 2, the story takes place in a prequel to the first game. Players assume the role of a new night guard at Freddy Fazbear's Pizza, which is now a grand reopening. This installment introduced new animatronics and expanded the lore of the series, revealing more about the dark history of the restaurant and its haunted past.


FNAF 3 continues the story, set thirty years after the closure of Freddy Fazbear's Pizza. Players take on the role of a security guard at Fazbear's Fright: The Horror Attraction, a horror-themed attraction based on the legends surrounding the original restaurant. This installment introduced new gameplay mechanics and concluded the original storyline.


FNAF 4 takes a different approach by shifting the setting to a child's bedroom. Players assume the role of a child who experiences terrifying nightmares involving the animatronics. This installment delves deeper into the backstory of the series and explores the psychological impact of the events on the characters.

FNAF Sister Location

Sister Location is a spin-off of the main series, taking place in a different location called Circus Baby's Entertainment and Rental. Players control a technician who must perform various tasks while avoiding the animatronics. This installment introduced new characters and added more complexity to the gameplay.

FNAF World

FNAF World is a non-canon RPG spin-off that takes the characters from the main series on a whimsical adventure. Players assemble a team of animatronics and explore different worlds, battling enemies and solving puzzles. This game offers a lighthearted and unique take on the FNAF universe.

FNAF: The Twisted Ones

The Twisted Ones is a novel written by Scott Cawthon and Kira Breed-Wrisley, expanding the FNAF lore beyond the games. It follows the story of a teenager named Charlie and her friends as they uncover the dark secrets behind the animatronics and face new threats.

FNAF: The Silver Eyes

The Silver Eyes is the first novel in the FNAF book series, also written by Scott Cawthon and Kira Breed-Wrisley. It introduces readers to a new set of characters and a different perspective on the events of the FNAF universe. The book explores the mysteries surrounding Freddy Fazbear's Pizza and the horrors that unfold within its walls.

These are just a few examples of the different series within the FNAF franchise. Each installment offers a unique experience, expanding the lore and captivating players with its suspenseful gameplay and intriguing storyline.

Back to blog